Sama Southwest Gradings

Sama Southwest run gradings every two months. A student requires 3 black stripes on their belt before they can grade (Green belts and above also require an additional red stripe).

Grading requirements:

1. All students must wear a clean, pressed karate suit (Gi) with the Sama badge sewn on the left-hand side of the chest together with their current belt.
2. Up-to-date membership book, if this has expired you can renew it online or at the grading. Beginners can purchase this at the grading if not previously done online or in class.
3. Students grading for Black Belt must wear a heavyweight karate Gi.
4. Long hair must be tied up/back.
5. No jewellery to be worn.

Prior to the actual Grading, all students do a pre-grade lesson. This is not an opportunity to gain black stripes, only to refresh the students on their techniques and katas. These lessons are aimed at giving extra practice and give students the benefit of being able to run through everything, including asking any last minute questions, to help alleviate any nerves and to gain confidence.

GRADING DATES:

Bishop Luffa School, Westgate, Chichester PO19 3HP

 


GRADING DATES:

  • Saturday 3rd November 2018
  • Saturday 12th January 2019
  • Saturday 9th March 2019
  • Saturday 11th May 2019
  • Saturday 6th July 2019
  • September 2019 Grading will be held at Southampton
  • Saturday 2nd November 2019
  • Saturday 18th January 2020
  • Saturday 7th March 2020
  • Saturday 16th May 2020
  • Saturday 11th July 2020
  • September 2020 Grading will be held at Southampton
  • Saturday 14th November 2020

COSTS:

  • Lesson & Grading going for 2nd blue belts & below: £20 Juniors / £26 Adults
  • Lesson & Grading going for Brown Belt & above: £25 Juniors / £31 Adults
  • Belts: Red to Blue £5 – 2nd Blue & above £5.50

DOWNLOAD BEGINNERS GRADING LETTER

DOWNLOAD COLOURED BELTS GRADING LETTER


Woodlands Community College, Minstead Ave, Southampton SO18 5FX


GRADING DATES:

  • Sunday 4th November 2018
  • Sunday 13th January 2019
  • Sunday 10th March 2019
  • Sunday 12th May 2019
  • Sunday 7th July 2019
  • Sunday 15th September 2019
  • Sunday 3rd November 2019
  • Sunday 19th January 2020
  • Sunday 8th March 2020
  • Sunday 17th May 2020
  • Sunday 12th July 2020
  • Sunday 13th September 2020
  • Sunday 15th November 2020

COSTS:

  • Lesson & Grading going for 2nd blue belts & below: £20 Juniors / £26 Adults
  • Lesson & Grading going for Brown Belt & above: £25 Juniors / £31 Adults
  • Belts: Red to Blue £5 – 2nd Blue & above £5.50

DOWNLOAD BEGINNERS GRADING LETTER

DOWNLOAD COLOURED BELTS GRADING LETTER

DUE TO HALL UNAVAILABILITY THE WINCHESTER GRADING WILL BE HELD IN SOUTHAMPTON

Kings School, Romsey Rd, Winchester SO22 5PN


GRADING DATES

  • Sunday 4th November 2018 NO WINCHESTER GRADING – moved to Southampton
  • Sunday 13th January 2019
  • Sunday 7th July 2019
  • Sunday 15th September 2019 Grading at Southampton
  • Sunday 18th January 2020
  • Sunday 8th March 2020
  • Sunday 17th May 2020
  • Sunday 12th July 2020
  • Sunday 13th September 2020 Grading at Southampton
  • Sunday 15th November 2020

COSTS:

  • Lesson & Grading going for 2nd blue belts & below: £20 Juniors / £26 Adults
  • Lesson & Grading going for Brown Belt & above: £25 Juniors / £31 Adults
  • Belts: Red to Blue £5 – 2nd Blue & above £5.50

DOWNLOAD BEGINNERS GRADING LETTER

DOWNLOAD COLOURED BELTS GRADING LETTER


Durrington Community Centre, 2 Romany Road, Worthing BN13 3PB


GRADING DATES:

  • Sunday 7th October 2018 – 2nd Brown to Black Belt
  • Sunday 2nd December 2018 – 2nd Brown to Black Belt
  • Sunday 3rd February 2019 – 2nd Brown to Black Belt
  • Sunday 31st March 2019 – 2nd Brown to Black Belt
  • Sunday 9th June 2019 – 2nd Brown to Black Belt
  • Sunday 6th October 2019 – 2nd Brown to Black Belt
  • Sunday 1st December 2019 – 2nd Brown to Black Belt

2nd Brown, 1st Kyu & Black belts! Students will grade in Worthing only after successfully passing a mock grade at Chichester and being told by their Instructor they are ready to grade.


COSTS:

  • Grading for 2nd brown & 1st Kyu: £20 Juniors / £25 Adults
  • Grading for Black Belt: £50 Juniors / £75 Adults

DOWNLOAD THE WORTHING GRADING LETTER

GRADING FAQ’s

We always receive a lot of calls leading up to grading – here’s the most commonly asked questions:

I HAVE JOINED BUT DON’T HAVE A MEMBERSHIP BOOK YET?
Your book will be at the Grading venue for you to collect.
I’VE LOST MY MEMBERSHIP BOOK CAN I STILL ATTEND?
Yes – we can sort this out at grading for you.
MY CHILD HAS LEFT THEIR KARATE UNIFORM AT SCHOOL, CAN THEY STILL ATTEND?
Yes – we can lend you a uniform at grading.
MY MEMBERSHIP HAS EXPIRED, CAN I STILL ATTEND?
Yes – we can renew this for you at grading.
MY CHILD IS A BEGINNER AND DOESN’T HAVE A MEMBERSHIP &/OR KARATE UNIFORM – CAN THEY STILL ATTEND?
Yes – we can sort all this out at the grading but please allow extra time for this.
MY CHILD ONLY HAS 2 BLACK STRIPES, CAN THEY STILL ATTEND?
No – they need 3 black stripes to grade.

Basically, most things can be sorted out at grading with the exception of not being to the required standard which is signified by the 3 black stripes on the karate belt.

BELT GRADES:

RED

11TH KYU

YELLOW

10TH KYU

ORANGE

9TH KYU

ORANGE STRIPE

8TH KYU

GREEN

7TH KYU

GREEN STRIPE

6TH KYU

BLUE

5TH KYU

BLUE STRIPE

4TH KYU

BROWN

3RD KYU

BROWN STRIPE

2ND KYU

RED WHITE BLUE

1ST KYU

BLACK

1ST DAN